4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 5, 2012 11:02 AM by pluto77 RSS

MR: Random Electronic Notices, Musings, etc.

ssindc Platinum 42 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Safe to assume that I wasn't the only one to be greeted today with this astounding proclamation: Good news! You have enough points for 5 Free Nights at any Category 4 hotel ???

That's all very nice, except that, well, I actually have enough points for a month at any Category 4 hotel....   Is it only me, or does it seem like - if someone is going to take the time to program an electronic notice to some Marriott Rewards members but not others, they ought to spend another 15 minutes and customize it or code it appropriately?  Granted, I'm not an IT professional or a web designer, but I'm pretty confident that, if they can figure out how to blast an email notice to all Marriott Rewards members with 80,000 points or more in their accounts, they can also customize it into bands (e.g., at least 80,000 points but not more than x points).  On the other hand,  what they said is true, and it's simple to send the same notice to everyone.

My boys tell me that some mornings I wake up and act like a cranky old man.  Maybe today is one of those days - sorry about that.  So, if you were happy to receive your notification that you, too, have enough points for 5 Free Nights at any Category 4 hotel, I hope I didn't diminish the luster on your day.  And, now, to end on a more positive note, see here for some Insiders' takes on their favorite Category 4 hotels: https://www.rewards-insiders.marriott.com/message/46820#46820. Also, don't rule out the category 3's either - I've spent a lot of time in the Residence Inn in Charlottesville, and the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is nice, the weekday cookouts are fun in the summer, and the staff is unfailingly pleasant....