10 Replies Latest reply: Nov 1, 2011 10:51 PM by jmaack RSS

Bad First Experience with Silver Elite Reservation Line

ted Silver
Currently Being Moderated

I'm new to Marriott Rewards, and just tried using the Silver Elite reservation line for the first time this evening.  I got cut off (hung up on?) twice in 3 calls.  The first hang up seemed like an accident, but I'm wondering if the second time around it was intentional.  I was calling with a request to change the credit card used to hold one of my reservations, as I'm cancelling that card, and I wanted to make sure that a valid card was on file for the reservation in case it was needed (perhaps to 'cover' a late arrival).  The agent told me that it couldn't be done.  When I explained why it was necessary to make the change, she said she would check.... and then I got cut off.  Is this the quality of service I should expect from Marriott?

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Location Brand Hotel
New York, New York, USA Marriott Hotels & Resorts New York Marriott East Side
  • Re: Bad First Experience with Silver Elite Reservation Line
    tef6178 Platinum 8 Reviews

As far as the phone line is concerned, I hope it was only coincidental that you were cut off while your request was being processed. I have always been treated very well on phone dealings. I may not, at certain times, enjoy or be happy with the response/answer, but they have always been very cordial.

As far as the reservation guarantee is concerned, they would not know the card has/had been cancelled and you could have just presented a new card for payment on check in.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

ssindc Platinum 42 Reviews