4 Replies Latest reply: Jul 19, 2011 8:02 PM by rufrt12 RSS

How I Made My Last 1M Points

pingreeman Platinum 1 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

body>

Because of my meticulous nature, I have been tracking my MR account on an Excel spreadsheet for the last several years. While I know I do not represent all MR members with my travel habits, I thought I would share how I earned my last million points.

Beginning on 10/25/2009 and through 06/30/2011, I have earned 1,003,102 points. This represents 613 calendar days or 87.6 weeks. During this period I earned 61 Visa bonus nights and had 302 actual nights and 83 stays as follows:
CYs: 56/15
FFs: 236/66
RIs: 5/1
SHs: 5/1

Points breakdown:
CYs:                   99,441
FFs:                  325,013
RIs:                      5,198
SHs:                     6,141  Properties: 435,793 or 43.4% ***
MegaBonus:    205,000  or 20.4%
Misc. Points:     66,400  or 6.6%^^^
Visa:                295,909  or 29.5%
TOTAL:   1,003,102

*** I always take the market gift rather than the 200 arrival points. Had I taken the points, I would have an additional 10,000 points earned during this period. (About a third of the time I end up with both the market gift AND the arrival points, so this is an estimate.)

^^^ Miscellaneous points are from several sources but primarily as an “apology” from a property for some type of inconvenience or complaint. For example, I once complained about a terribly slow internet and was given 1K points.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: How I Made My Last 1M Points
    versel Alumni Steward Platinum

Now you've got me interested. I may have to start doing the same thing...