11 Replies Latest reply: Jun 5, 2011 1:35 AM by globaltreker RSS

Work ID as proof of rate eligibility dilemma

sirray Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

I'm an independent consultant who travels extensively on client engagements. Since my hotel stays are paid for by the clients, they require me to book with their corporate rates. I know I'm supposed to present work ID associated with that corporate rate upon check in. However, since I'm a consultant, I'm seldom issued a work ID by my clients.

With that said, I've never been asked to present work ID when checking in. I was told that the front desk is never supposed to ask for my ID anyway since I'm a platinum premiere member. However, I was asked for a work ID today when I checked in to a Renaissance. After much explaining, I was able to convince them. However, I'm interested in how others like me have been dealing with this. If someone from Marriott reads this, please respond also. Thanks

• Re: Work ID as proof of rate eligibility dilemma
    versel Alumni Steward Platinum

I'm in the same situation. Like you, I'm almost never asked for ID. On the rare occasion where I am asked for it upon check in, I tell them that it's my first week and that if they give me the hotel fax number, I'll have someone from HR fax something over.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Alumni Steward Platinum 8 Reviews

I have always been asked for an ID when getting a room rate less than the going rate. Now, I have been also asked to show my proof of identification (driver's license, etc.) as well as my CC. Must be unique to CA?

In the small print of the reservation page when you book online it says, "ID required.  If no ID prevailing rate will be applied." (or something along those lines.)

Anyone else see this in their travels?