10 Replies Latest reply: Mar 15, 2011 9:00 AM by pingreeman RSS

When FREE Internet Service just isn't worth it.

starcrazee Gold
Currently Being Moderated

I've been staying at the RI in Germantown, TN for the last 2 months. It didn't take long to realize that the Internet service here is absolutely horrendous. I'm not talking about trying to stream movies or Skype, simple tasks like checking email or filing expense reports are unreasonably painful most evenings.

After a call or two to the StayOnline helpdesk (since the front desk rejected any ownership of the issue) I learned that I should not expect throughput beyond 1.5 mbps (1/6th of service I get in my rural home). Fixing the problem was always comprised of the technician kicking "abusive" users off the network. Conditions would improve for a little while until the next guest would log in to Skype, Netflix, or whatever.

How did they know that they were "abusers" I ask? To the best of my knowledge, access to these online services is not prohibited. The available bandwidth at this (and other Marriott properties) simply will not support these activities. The simplest solution would be to increase the bandwith available to each hotel. Until the hotel identifies and enforces access to these "abusive" services there is no alternative but to increase the bandwidth.

Staying late at work each night in order to get reliable Internet access is not improving my impression of the value that this Residence Inn provides to it's guests. How is your Marriott during in this regard where you stay?

• Re: When FREE Internet Service just isn't worth it.
    Alumni Steward Platinum 8 Reviews

I too have found that the Internet in almost all Marriott's is very slow and at times also very irritating.  At an RI recently for example I had to go through the sign in process every time I returned to the machine, and brought it out of sleep mode.  I also did a speed test and made 0.7 mbps which is nearly dial-up without the handshake!.