8 Replies Latest reply: Feb 2, 2011 1:35 AM by tjcnewyork RSS

Egypt Reprised

profchiara Alumni Steward Silver 3 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

It's ironic in view of the recent situations in Tunisia, Moscow, Algeria, Lebanon and now Egypt (not to mention a whole lot of other places in the world) that I wrote a couple of days ago about travel fears.

That said, watching the photos from Egypt today (I'm an utter news junkie, switching from BBC to CNN-I to anywhere I can get news online or on TV), I felt an enormous empathy with the people there because I had been there. To me as a professor, I've never been able to write about or teach well about a place I've never been (and of course I'm lucky that my college supports me in my travel, as do Marriott and Delta).  Had I not traveled to Egypt in December, I doubt my reactions would have been the same as when I watched today.  I am not taking sides, but I met people in Egypt, Copts and Muslims and Jews alike, yet the one thing most had in common was a poverty I'd never seen anywhere else where I have traveled.  Downtown Cairo is amazing, like almost any Western city, but all you need to do is go off the side streets en route to a tour to see people at the most basic level of subsistence.  Mule and horse carts are common, competing with cars for road space.  I already mentioned how little Egyptians earn in a year -- today I heard a different number.  I had read $1900 a year.  Most news reports today said the per capita income is $2 a day.

I recognize how extraordinarily lucky I am, to have seen both the magical sights of Egypt that awed me beyond anywhere I'd ever been, and also to have been a witness to the other side of Egyptian society that we don't usually see.  Maybe now it will be seen.