8 Replies Latest reply: Dec 17, 2010 11:04 AM by anadyr RSS

My Holiday Travel Story - Egypt

profchiara Alumni Steward Silver 3 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

My trip to Egypt was the most awesome travel experience of my life. I’ll include more pictures in reply to my own post. The Cairo Marriott & Omar Khayyam was amazing, starting even before my trip when the Guest Relations Manager helped me arrange a flight tour to Luxor and the Valley of the Kings and Queens.  The hotel is attached to a beautiful former palace and has numerous restaurants that cater to every taste.  The palace itself was designed for Napoleon and his third wife Eugénie, whose portraits adorn the Saraya Gallery Restaurant.  The food was amazing and the service excellent.  But even better was the Ristorante Tuscany.  In freshness and perfection, it rivaled the best restaurants I have eaten at in Italy.

But it was the trip itself that was so special.  I studied ancient Egypt and Egyptology in college and am currently writing a book chapter about it.  But as I soon learned, no book can possibly prepare you for the experience of Egypt.

The first day I took a private tour with Emo Tours, which had rave reviews on Tripadvisor, of Sakkara, Memphis, the Giza Pyramids and the Sphinx (which they deserve).  My only problem with the Marriott occurred here.  Some of the people at the concierge desk are extraordinarily helpful; others are not.  There are two lobby levels at the Cairo Marriott, and at the appointed time I could not find my guide and was running up and down.  Since the elevators are far from the lobby, this wasn’t easy and neither the lower or upper level lobby concierge would help me when they found out it was not a Marriott-arranged tour.  Fortunately, at the upper lobby I heard a woman saying my name into a house phone and found my guide.