20 Replies Latest reply: Nov 1, 2013 3:33 PM by bpelican RSS

Benefits of being Platinum Premier if no exec lounge?

richardeke Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

What are the benefits of being Platinum Premier if hotel does not offer an executive lounge?

I’ve been staying at the same Marriott hotel, most weeks, for over 5 years (512 nights) – if it wasn’t a very good hotel I wouldn’t still be staying there.

However;

·        It does not have an Executive lounge

·        It does not have any upgraded rooms (only difference is some toiletries and a bath robe).

·        Internet access is £15 (approx. $25USD) a night

·        My standard rate includes breakfast

As a Platinum Premier member I do receive 1 free draft beer voucher per night stayed…

The main competing hotel in the same area is a Hyatt which, if I switch my bookings, has offered me immediate promotion to their top rewards level. This gives me access to the executive lounge on day one together with free internet access.

My main reason for continuing to stay at Marriott is the staff – they are so much better than any other major hotel I’ve stayed at.

However, given the offers other hotels are making, like above, I’m beginning to waiver…. With 124 nights already this year I’m already Platinum for next year and 2/3s the way to the year after that….

Come on Marriott – give me a reason not to ‘jump ship’!

• Re: Benefits of being Platinum Premier if no exec lounge?
    pltnmprincess Platinum