3 Replies Latest reply: Mar 7, 2011 6:52 PM by travelguy RSS

Marriott Marketing Research Missing the Mark

superchief1 Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

As a marketing research professional, I had always appreciated Marriott's leadership in utinlizing effective marketing research for the development of their portfolio. I was impressed with a presentation at an AMA MR conference regarding how the Courtyard brand was originally developed and optimized, and was an early purchaser in their well positioned timeshare product.

Recent 'disasters' (Courtyard bistros, new insiders forum, new MVC program) indicate to me that either they are doing the wrong research, hiring outside consultants who know little about the business, or management is ignoring the findings. They are either asking the wrong questions, using inappropriate methodology for the issue, or surveying the wrong people. I never received any survey for MVC changes even though I own five weeks and am MR lifetime platinum. Several others have mentioned that they have received several surveys for the same topic. Something is amiss in their sampling.  Questions in the surveys seemed to focus on short term usage options and flexibility, rather than determining key elements of the program to preserve.

As a long-term loyal MR customer, I hope management recognizes these problems and makes changes before additional customers are alienated.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Location Brand Hotel
London, United Kingdom
  • Re: Marriott Marketing Research Missing the Mark
    Alumni Steward Platinum 8 Reviews

Excellent post Superchief, and I agree.

Sometimes the inside the tent filter creeps in to decision-making and the resulting outcomes are less than desirable.