6 Replies Latest reply: Dec 8, 2016 11:03 AM by seatexan RSS

30 Days - Did Members Get It?

erc Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

As a marketing hobbyist, I enjoy viewing and participating in promotional events. Here is some data about the recent 30 Days Members Get It that Marriott, the Global Leader in lodging, offered us.

Perhaps a bit flat for an organization that produces buzz creating entertainment events and promotes through press releases its innovation, it seemed to run out of gas near the end. With the exception of the first day social media points, (which came with Marriott's signature technical challenges) there didn't appear to be much excitement throughout the online customer base; Insiders, Facebook, or Flyertalk - either Marriott or Starwood. 

Any additional Insiders thoughts and insights are appreciated.

Editor's note: the (?) denotes IMO, given the prices, an offer not sale
Also, Day 29 - Marriott Gift Cards were sold at a price of 2,500 points per $10 card increments. The day to day price of buying Marriott points is $12.50 per 1,000 points (1.25 cents per point). Marriott essentially implements an arbitrage premium (like currency exchange) to its loyal customers
(those friendly enough to give Marriott their e-mail address or participate in Insiders). At $.0125 per point, 2,500 points would buy  $31.25 worth of gift cards. This is the 250,000 points for $1,000 ratio increase from when it used to be 135,000 points for a $1,000.

DAY         EVENTS                                 VIEWS               COMMENTS  

1           Connected - Social media pts             1647                      71
  2           Link Marriott & SPG accounts               390                        9
  3           MegaBonus sign up                              591                        8
  4           Gaylord Hotel                                       296                        6