23 Replies Latest reply: Dec 29, 2016 3:47 PM by laila RSS

Why Marriott?

fp542 Silver
Currently Being Moderated

Hi guys,

I'm a MBA student studying at NYU and we are working on a project to evaluate why Marriott is outperforming Hilton. (Marriott is investing less in capital than Hilton yet have an almost equivalent of return). Can you please let us know your thought on why you think this happens/why you chose Marriott over Hilton/Hyatt?

Thank you very much!

Fei,

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Location Brand Hotel
New York-Manhattan, New York, USA
  • Re: Why Marriott?
    peymanagement Platinum

fp542, I will give you my input. It is a simple matter of supply and demand. Marriott covers a wider spectrum of brands, from courtyard to RC, It has more properties than Hilton, and when I check it can out price them. Loyalty programs are the same, Hilton treats their loyal people a bit better, but at the end of the day about the same so it comes down to price. I am a diamond at Hilton and a Platinum at Marriott, but head to head, my experience is I usually get a better price at Marriott.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

john_thai Platinum 8 Reviews

I was HH Gold but Marriott properties were more convenient for me in many locations. And Marriott has always treated me well. So why change from Marriott?

cjmarriott Silver 1 Reviews