8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 30, 2016 7:00 PM by Ktw511 RSS

How can I get an upgraded room when I book with points?

Ktw511 Gold
Currently Being Moderated

HI All

IM new to the process.......

I'm finding that only certain rooms are available and some hotels don't have any redemption rooms available.

I saved points to be able to go away on a nice vacation but I can't book a suite or a room with a view. Is there any way I can use points toward a nicer room? I don't want to have to hope for a upgrade.

THanks for your help!

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: How can I get an upgraded room when I book with points?
    carat Community Manager Marriott Associate Silver

Hi Ktw511.  When it comes to upgrades, they are given based on availability upon checkin.  Often times, reaching out to the hotel directly is the best option to inquire about the upgrades they have available for your stay. 

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Snail5930 Gold

Usually hotels offer only basic rooms for points. But there are many exceptions and then for more points or points + money you can take a larger room or apartment. If the hotel offers such rooms and suites with points they will appear on the reservations page.

phctourist Platinum 20 Reviews

Absolutely not my experience!  I have found upgrades available when booking for cash or points without any difference.  I just came back from California and I was upgraded 4 times in four stays.  Two were for points and two for cash.  We were upgraded at every hotel and twice received a suite.  One suite was for cash and one for points and the one for points was far nicer than the suite for which we paid cash .