7 Replies Latest reply: Oct 3, 2016 8:55 AM by seatexan RSS

Beacons, Loyalty, and Starwood....

ssindc Platinum 42 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Fascinating article for the Marriott community: Marriott Bringing Beacons To 500 Hotels By The End Of 2016 |

• Beacons
  • Starwood
  • Loyalty, and
  • even Pokemon

By the way, does anyone have any experience with Beacons?

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Beacons, Loyalty, and Starwood....
    erc Platinum

Great stuff ssindc and coming just when I had finally mastered gmail, I'm all set.

BigThom is right when he talks about loyalty is outdated and it's Marriott's loyalty to us that's the current trend, and who better than the industry leader Marriott. I believe us Insiders are well positioned to ride the wave.

I've had some beacon experience with restaurants and coffee shops and I'm all for it. The key; just like Groupon, Travelzoo, Goldstar etc - don't buy what you don't want just because it's 20% off.

It's a brave new world baby, and I'm ready - bring it on Big Thom! I'm studying my Guy Kawasaki handbook just to keep up.

Off to Scottsdale where I won't be able to respond being that I don't have a laptop, I-pad, or phone with internet with enough power to write - but I'll be thinking of everyone. Go man, go.

PS - perhaps you ssindc should have a personal beacon. I told everyone in Houston at the Insiders Tipple how we were 0 for 3 in connecting; National Building Museum, Mayflower, and your hometown dive Chasin' Tails in Arlington, Va. where I kept calling out to every male over 20, "ssindc, ssindc, ssindc" to no avail. I was getting worried I would get arrested for being a skinhead recruiter!

Keep on keepin' on Insiders, it's all good and a great day to be alive.