2 Replies Latest reply: Mar 14, 2010 2:48 PM by traveler2 RSS

Trip to Alaska

boojava Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

We are planning a two week tour of Alaska while with visiting our son who is at University Alaska Fairbanks. Since we have a substanial number of reward points we would love to use them for this vacation. Any recommendation as to how to best use them - air fare, hotel accomendations (which will be limited to those cities that even have a Marriott), etc. Thanks.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Trip to Alaska
    countryjim Platinum 1 Reviews

Good recommendations from Pingreeman, which I will second.

I am a ten-year Alaska resident prior to retiring --- so can tell you that you undoubtedly will more than enjoy Alaska.

Keep in mind that summer weather - like many parts of the US -- can be changable.  Be prepared for the state birds (mosquitos, not ptarmigans) and for changable temperatures.  In summer, 80 to 90 degrees farenheit in Fairbanks (FAI) is not uncommon, nor is 30 to 40 degrees at night in oceanfront and some bush (rural) towns.

In Anchorage (ANC), all of the Marriott properties have good locations with a few fabulous locations --- and all are well managed (in my experience).  If this is your first time to the Last Frontier (Alaska's motto), I strongly suggest you stay at the downtown Anchorage full-service Marriott.  The 360-degree mountain/ocean views from the top-floor concierge lounge are nothing short of spectacular!   Allow yourself a few hours in the lounge!  On most days, the lounge has the best long-range view you will ever find of Mt. MicKinley and Mt. Foracker and the entire Alaska Mountain Range and most of the Chugach Mountains.  Plus all of Cook Inlet and the north end of the Kenai Peninsula.