2 Replies Latest reply: Jun 25, 2016 12:53 PM by lindseyh RSS

Marriott Minneapolis City Center - Updated Review

clebert Platinum 21 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Anyone who read my prior review knows that I have had some bad experiences at this hotel.  I spend a lot of time in Minneapolis for work, and have never been impressed by Marriott's offerings in downtown Minneapolis.  Compared to SPG, Hilton, and Lowes, Marriott doesn't have much in the way of high-end FS properties.  The new JW by Mall of America is nice but needs to improve its service, and most of the time I need to be downtown so the JW is not in a good location for me.  I do like Hotel Minneapolis quite a bit but it's not in the most convenient downtown location for me, whereas Marriott Minneapolis City Center is right next to my company's headquarters in downtown Minneapolis.  So I do stay there from time to time if Hotel Minneapolis is full or the rate is too high, etc.  My last stay at Marriott Minneapolis City Center was earlier this week, and I found this property much improved from prior stays, so I'm updating my review.

GOOD:

Service has improved a lot since my last stay.

Front desk was friendly and efficient.

M Lounge staff was friendly and helpful.

M Lounge is new - open 24 hours with excellent food and décor.

They actually paid attention to my special requests on the reservation and fulfilled them all (i.e., put me on a high floor with extra feather pillows and extra towels, away from the elevator and ice machine) - I have these requests on every reservation, and about 95% of the time, the hotels completely ignore them. So, I was very impressed at this hotel for getting all the details right.

This hotel is in a great location in the center of downtown Minneapolis (as the name correctly implies), although the City Center mall attached to the hotel used to be quite sketchy.  It has improved in the past few years quite a bit.

NOT SO GOOD: