10 Replies Latest reply: Nov 14, 2015 4:06 PM by solkua RSS

TVL Rate- Gold and moving on. Any tips from members?

skysurfr Gold
Currently Being Moderated

I am a Travel Industry professional and have enjoyed booking the TVL rate for many years. As is indicated in many other discussions, Marriott has stopped awarding points and nights for this rate even when it's equal to or more than other qualifying rates.    That's their choice. It's a bad choice in my opinion.

I frequently stay at the LAX Marriott and they have continued to downgrade the Lounge amenities. The breakfast is now served in the dim downstairs restaurant rather than in the lounge with the spectacular view of the arriving airplanes and airport.   At other properties I was awarded points because lounges were closed. 

It's just not that attractive anymore and I am ready to spend my points and move on.

Any other Travel Industry professionals have a suggestion on what other hotel brand to move on to?  I came to Marriott at the suggestion of another travel pro many years ago.  I recently renovated a home using my Marriott Rewards card.  

The final slap in the face came last month in Paris when I tried to use points for a stay.  They wanted an absurd amount of points at any property for a stay and then wanted $150/nt on top of the points.

As a suggestion to Marriott- If you are going to stop awarding points then lower the TVL rates to the "Family" or "Employee" rates. 

My suggestion to other Travel Industry Professionals- If you stay at the same hotel often, contact the sales department in that hotel. Ask if they can arrange a "bookable" rate for you.  I've found that the local hotel managers will frequently recognize the value of loyalty and the added revenue to a hotel that is frequently not booked to capacity.