16 Replies Latest reply: Jun 17, 2015 5:39 PM by Jsucool76 RSS

Taste of gold?

haf2001 Silver
Currently Being Moderated

HI everyone, I've been reading the posts but this is my first time posting. Just wondering, has anyone had any luck calling and getting signed up for taste of gold/platinum? I called yesterday and was denied, only offered a gold challenge. In your opinion, should I wait a couple of weeks and call back? Maybe get somebody different? Or would that not even be worth it?

Thanks!

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Taste of gold?
    bejacob Platinum 38 Reviews

At the Silver level, you can only get signed up for a Gold challenge. Sometimes Marriott will offer a "Taste of Gold" where you are granted Gold status immediately and get to keep it if you complete 6 stays over the next 3 months.

If you call to request a challenge, you will be offered the "Road to Gold" which is almost the same as "Taste of Gold" except that you will not be given Gold status until after you complete 6 stays.

If you are not too far from reaching Gold it could be helpful to wait, since you would then be able to request a Platinum challenge (challenges are only available to achieve the next level). Also, only one challenge is allowed per year, so if you do opt for a Gold challenge, you won't be able to do a Platinum one later this year.

In any case, I don't think you will likely get a better result if you call again. Some folks have been denied for any challenge, so if you got offered a Gold one, that is likely the best you can expect.

Hope that helps. Let us know if you do get signed up for a challenge and if/when you complete it.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

ramoneur Platinum