5 Replies Latest reply: May 28, 2015 3:18 PM by ramoneur RSS

3 week tour of China with my wife

ramoneur Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

I have been traveling throughout China since 2007 for business.

Having the luxury of speaking/reading some Chinese I have been doing this fairly independently.

Now, planning a sort of "renewed honeymoon" with my wife in 2017, I am a bit at a loss what our itinerary should be for a 3 week trip.

I am planning to use as much as possible of my Marriott account points for the stays, so my preference for the hotels would be Marriott.

My last destination, for a few days, would be Shanghai, since I sort of gotten to know this city.

However, regarding what to do/visit in the 2,5 weeks before we end up there, I still have no clue.

Since this will be her only time for a long time past - and to come - to taste a bit of freedom (since she is a stay at home mother and we have two young daughters...) the pressure of making this a "once-in-a-lifetime" holiday/memory is a bit high...

My wife likes reading, music, history and culture.

Early 30's when we will have this trip.

So I am thinking about the following travel plan:

[3 days] fly to Beijing, visit the old palace, TianAnMen, etc.

[2 days] take night train to ChengDu, visit some panda's, etc.

[3 days] go to Chongqing, visit museums, etc.

[2 days] take train to KunMing, visit museums (Flying Tigers, etc.)

[2 days] drive/train/boat to the Three Gorges Dam, visit museums, etc.

[3 days] take boat (YangtZe River Cruise) to ?

[2 days] go to SuZhou

[2 days] go to HangZhou

[3 days] Shanghai

Do you guys/gals have any other ideas, tips, advice, etc.?

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Location Brand Hotel
Shanghai, China Renaissance Hotels Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
  • Re: 3 week tour of China with my wife