7 Replies Latest reply: Feb 27, 2014 3:20 PM by takingthehighroad RSS

Government Contractors....rate problems!

allworknoplay Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

As a Federal Government Contractor, I travel extensively across the US.  My work is supporting the Federal Government.  Early in 2008, Marriott implemented a policy to exclude "Contractors" from using the Federal Government rate.  This has caused me far more expense than expected as I am expected to adhere to the government per diem, but cannot find rates anywhere near the approved government rate.

My concern is that Marriott seems to have little interest to provided a national "Government Contractor" rate.

Is anyone else impacted by this change?  I'd like to hear your stories and develop an online petition. 

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Government Contractors....rate problems!
    oldmanlightnin Platinum
    I have exactly the same problem.  If I can't get this handled, I will be looking at other programs where I can stay and get a rate within the per diem.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

kahunapremier Platinum
    Have your GOV lead give you a letter sugguesting that you can and should get GOV per diem rates based on GOV, regardless if Contractor or not.

stormchaser Platinum

Having traveled extensively over the past 15 months, I have had no problems with the GOV rate. I am a contractor. There has never been an issue booking a room under the GOV rate via web site or upon check in.  Suggest contacting supervisor if problems occur when checking in. Best of luck.

rune01 Platinum