5 Replies Latest reply: May 7, 2015 2:22 PM by Jsucool76 RSS

Why will marriott not back date their Gold Challenge?  Why number of stays instead of nights?

ninz Silver
Currently Being Moderated

I'm platinum at Starwood and usually stay at Starwood hotels, but some recent travels have had me at a bunch of Marriott brand hotels.  I'm a consultant and travel every week so I'm pretty familiar with status matches and challenges.  Starwood's platinum challenge will let you back date the start of a challenge within reason (i.e. if it's currently May, they would let me make the challenge start April 1, to include past stays).  I asked if Marriott would do the same, and was told no.  I was also told that there is no Platinum Challenge, rather only a gold challenge, and that I would have to have 6 different stays, rather than a number of nights.  Is this truly the case?  Has anyone else had the same experience?  If so, I am seriously disappointed in Marriott and will be taking my business exclusively to Starwood from now on.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Why will marriott not back date their Gold Challenge?  Why number of stays instead of nights?
    bejacob Platinum 38 Reviews

Yep. That's the way it's always been at Marriott. The challenge can't be backdated and it has almost always been based on stays instead of nights.

The only way to get a Platinum challenge is to already be at the Gold elite level. Also, only one challenge per year, so you couldn't complete a Gold challenge and then try for Platinum challenge. You could, however, achieve Gold by staying 50 nights and then do a Platinum challenge (9 stays instead of 6 over a three month period). If you're not too far away from Gold, it could be helpful to wait.

In any case, your experience is quite normal.