14 Replies Latest reply: Apr 16, 2015 1:23 PM by brightlybob RSS

Complete novice need Guidance

heathergreen Gold
Currently Being Moderated

I have been a Marriott Silver member for some time but not actively used it as I been an elite member of another well known hotel,

I have now changed my opinion and impressed with Marriott hotels.

So as a complete novice. Could someone please tell me has the "fast  track to Gold Challenge finished? If not what is the next step?

Also how much do I need to spend on Marriott Rewards Mastercard (credit card) to achieve gold/platinum?

Thank you

From UK

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Complete novice need Guidance
    kharada46 Alumni Steward Gold 10 Reviews

Hello heathergreen!  Welcome to the community! 

Fast Track to Gold Challenge will require 6 stays over a 3 month period.  You should be able to call MR Customer Service and request the challenge. 

Unfortunately, the MR MasterCard you have in the UK gives you only 10 Elite Qualifying Nights (EQNs) per year you have the card and doesn't allow you to earn any additional EQN's as does the MR Premier Visa Signature by Chase here in the US.  However, 10 EQNs are still 10 EQNs and are a great start! 

How many nights do you normally stay in a hotel per year?

Another great way to earn status is through MR Rewarding Events.  You can earn 10 EQNs per event:

Will I earn Elite status by booking meetings and events with Marriott?

As a Rewards member, you will earn 10 Elite nights for each group, meeting or event in addition to the points or miles earned for any qualifying charge.

Following the event, your Elite nights will be posted or added to any existing Elite nights in your account, along with the points or miles earned.

Rewarding Events - FAQs

Hope this helps!