This discussion is locked
8 Replies Latest reply: Feb 13, 2016 12:58 PM by docsavage RSS

Difficulty with Gold status challenge

bluepig1 Gold
Currently Being Moderated

Note from your Community Managers:  For all inquires and requests regarding Status Challenges, please refer to the following thread:

Status Challenges: What are they and how do I enroll?

Rather frustrated with Marriott Rewards right now.

Back in mid-February, I emailed the status challenge email and requested a Marriott Gold status challenge. I am already Marriott Silver.

I'm a new consultant, travelling Mon-Thurs every week.  That's a lot of future stays. At that point, Marriott emailed me with the terms of the Gold challenge (6 stays before end of May 2015) to be qualified as Gold. Great, no problem, I was excited to have Gold status by the end of March (6 weeks = 6 stays).

I'm in the middle of my 5th stay, but when I checked in this week, I saw that I was already listed as Gold. This caused me to double check the challenge email from mid-Feb, when I noticed that I had to respond to the email to accept the challenge offer. As busy as I am, I missed that little detail, so my last 5 stays apparently do not count.

I emailed back and forth a few times with Marriott Rewards customer service today, as well as called their telephone customer service, and they won't budge -- they can't backdate the Gold status challenge start date to the original email date. I strongly suggested that I was likely to cancel my remaining reservations with Marriott (12 stays over the next 12 weeks at the same Marriott property, over the duration of my current client project) over my frustration, and they didn't seem to care.