0 Replies Latest reply: Mar 9, 2015 3:14 PM by msb_bryan RSS

"What Do They Want, And How Can I Help Them?"

msb_bryan Marriott Associate Platinum
Currently Being Moderated

Dr. Starr Shafer is the founder and president of StarResults, which works with business leaders to drive the effectiveness of their teams and achieve their business imperatives. Not only is she a valued partner of Marriott’s, she’s a former Marriott associate herself. Having both worked for and with Marriott over the years, she can speak to how the company prepared her for success in her own business, and how a Small Business owner can establish and grow a relationship with a company like Marriott.

How did your career at Marriott prepare you for success in your own business?

I was an on-property general manager for 17 years. I led regional sales and service training for supervisors and associates. I was full-time with the sales organization, and then I moved into learning development globally.

My foundational experience came from working on the sales side, and my goal was always to develop relationships where our clients saw us as a trusted advisor — “what do they want, and how can I help them?”

The best thing about my time at Marriott was the opportunity to work with Steve Marriott. His commitment overall taught me what a servant-leader is: take risks, be authentic to yourself, and open your ears to listen.

These are even more important to me now as a business leader. How do I serve clients? By making them comfortable with taking risks, because change is never easy.

X30A9452.jpg

What was the catalyst for starting your own business?

The diversity of work. Regardless of the industry I’m working with, leadership experience the same challenges. And having the ability to work with many stakeholders taught me techniques for success in entrepreneurship.

Beyond just doing business with you, how has Marriott supported your business?