9 Replies Latest reply: Oct 27, 2014 9:37 AM by kbscubadiver RSS

Making reservations for others and eligibility

Jsucool76 Gold
Currently Being Moderated

So I had a few quick questions. I'm fairly new to the MR program, but recently acquired the chase marriot card so now marriot is my go-to hotel.

I see that there is a deal going "free nights for new members", and have already made reservations for 2 paid stays which will fall into eligibility timeframe for my account, however, one of the reservations I've made is for my mom for a stay that I will not be at. Will this reservation still count towards this promotion since it was made through my MR account, and it will be paid for with my marriot card? Will I receive points for this stay? And lastly, I made a second reservation for my mom using my annual free night from my marriot card, another stay I will not be present for, will she be able to use this free night if I am not there?

Thanks so much, in advance, for the help!

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Making reservations for others and eligibility
    jm1991 Gold 3 Reviews

As far as i have read, you need to be present at check in to qualify for points and promotions. Unless the reservation is prepaid in advance, you will probably need to fill and send a credit card authorization form for them to charge your card, otherwise your mother will need to pay with a credit card of hers at check in. The free night certificates are non transferable so you have to be there in person checking in, i dont think they will allow anyone else other than you check in. You might want to check with the hotel directly.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Jsucool76 Gold