5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 6, 2014 12:46 PM by platbrad RSS

No city view in New York with points???

BrowneHounds Gold 5 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

I really hope that I am just not seeing the right thing to click...

I have been saving points and will continue to save points for a turning 50 birthday trip to New York City.  This is a big deal for hubbie and I and I want to make it spectacular.  I am a public school teacher (going during Spring Break), so money is tight.  We earn the bulk of our points through my husband's traveling and with the Marriott credit card.

I am beyond dismayed to find that the main Times Square hotels (Marquis, the two Courtyards, Residence Inn) do not allow someone paying  with points to book a city view.  We will pay with an enormous amount of points - but no view.   That's like staying in an outhouse on a mountain resort.  I wrote the Marquis to see if I paid with a combination of points and cash....THEN could I get the view/better room?  No. 

There really ought to be a way to allow folks to pay more points to get a better room at one of the properties.

Other than paying cash for the rooms (really not an option) and being super nice to the front desk...any suggestions?  We are staying four nights.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: No city view in New York with points???
    Frogs Platinum 9 Reviews

Unfortunately that's not uncommon. I suggest calling when you make the reservations and ask for a note to be added to your reservation. Then when you arrive ask again. When we stayed there over Christmas one year we used points and when I asked, I got an upgrade.

Enjoy your trip and Happy Birthday a little early!!!

kim