10 Replies Latest reply: Jul 22, 2014 5:46 AM by profchiara RSS

Stages of Life -- Hotels and Airlines

profchiara Alumni Steward Silver 3 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Why are there no songs with lyrics like "when I was old...?" The recent discussions about millennials got me to thinking (with lots of song lyrics in my mind, including the Animals, Frank Sinatra, Exordium's In the Year 2525, etc.

Zager And Evans - In The Year 2525 Lyrics | MetroLyrics).  We travel differently at different ages, and as technology evolves (or devolves, depending on one's point of view) we want and need different things.

To make a long story, short, when I first started traveling abroad in the late 1980s and 1990s, I was a grad student then assistant professor on a basic salary (depending where I was), and I still couldn't travel much since I had no money of my own or research grants.   It started to change when I taught for a few years at Wellesley and Harvard, but they were minimal travel grants (like 1/3 of a plane ticket to Europe).  When I got the tenure-track and tenured job at Colby everything started to change, but it was worse before it was better.  While I was still in Boston, I not only taught at one/two colleges, but also worked full time at Mass Gen Hospital.  So Colby actually made my financial situation much worse since I couldn't work other jobs.

Fortunately they gave grants of $3000 a year for research (which has pretty much remained the same).  There were not euros in the 90s so it was easier, but now it's not and the euro is worth more than 1.37 times the dollar.  So that's partially where I come to the stages of life.

- When we start out we do what we can and hopefully are as savvy as possible (for me that meant Delta and first Hilton then Marriott loyalty programs)

- This works till it doesn't -- it worked a long time, I have to admit, especially with Delta