14 Replies Latest reply: Jul 15, 2014 12:15 PM by brightlybob RSS

Does a free night count towards stays?

chenbing Gold 1 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

I am quite new to Marriott program, so I don't know the rules behind it. I used a free night certificate on 5 of July during my trip to Dallas. Even after all my reward points were posted a week ago, I still didn't see the stay credited to my account. So it doesn't count for a stay towards elite status?

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Location Brand Hotel
Dallas, Texas, USA Renaissance Hotels Renaissance Dallas Hotel
  • Re: Does a free night count towards stays?
    iahflyr Platinum 26 Reviews

Welcome to Insiders and Marriott Rewards, you'll find some wonderful folks sharing all type of travel and other experiences so hope you enjoy it all.

Any night that is not a paid stay does not count toward elite status.  As you noticed you'll still get your points based upon the dollar amount you spend, but no nights are awarded.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

chenbing Gold 1 Reviews

Thank you for your reply, now I have two more questions:

1. Nights redeemed with points still won't count, right?

2. How about Points+Cash stays, will it count?

You're more than welcome chenbing.

1.  Now, night redeemed using points do not count toward elite nights either, sorry to give bad news.

2.  You will however; or at least I have gotten credit for an elite night for the night/s using cash.

chenbing Gold 1 Reviews

Thank you so much for answering my dumb questions. It seems like in most of the cases, I will save up the points for Hotel+Air package instead of redeeming for free night.