11 Replies Latest reply: Apr 24, 2014 1:28 AM by demetriabeth RSS

New and completely stumped.

demetriabeth Silver 1 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Hi!  I'm fairly new to marriot rewards, and i am embarrassed to say this, but i cannot figure out how to earn points.  I understand that i get 1 point per dollar for staying at a marriott hotel, but i am confused about the categories.  How do i know which category is the best to stay at?  I am assuming the higher the category the better?  Also, i have the credit card so i am silver elite.  When my poiints reset this year, it says i have 2 bonus nights.  Those are not free nights, but rather 2 nights counting toward the total i need to stay at silver status? Is there any pointers you can give me to get some good travel deals?  I appreciate y'alls advice.  Any help will be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you!

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: New and completely stumped.
    tommo781 Silver 8 Reviews

Hi demetriabeth, and welcome.

Please don't ever be embarrassed about not understanding the minefield that is Marriott Rewards.  Only last week I got in a muddle about a reservation made using points, and the Insiders were very patient and helped me through it.  They are a very helpful and informative bunch, who are always more than willing to share knowledge and experiences.

I am not sure what you mean about the bonus nights on reset, but there is another recent thread that might help you. Bonus Nights

But I can tell you about categories.