17 Replies Latest reply: Mar 11, 2014 2:57 PM by parcaae RSS

New to Insider, a few questions

parcaae Silver 1 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Hi, as stated above, I am new to insider and would like to understand more fully on the Rewards.  Do you get points by using your Marriott Rewards Visa Card any where, or does it have to be only with their hotels or participating companies like other hotels, airlines, and car rentals?

What does it mean on the site when you are looking to get a room Marriott Reward Offers (MRO).  Does that mean you get points for selecting a room under that tab, or you can use your reward points for that room and if that MRO is not available for those nights, you cannot use those reward points?

Do you get reward points for staying one night, or does it have to be more than one night to get reward points? 

What if you stay at many Marriott's in different towns for a week, does that get you points (if the nights or only one night each stay)?

What is a reward blackout?

I am sure I will have more questions, but I appreciate any info I can get.  I have looked on the websites and I am a bit confused.  I feel the website is not designed very well.

Thanks

• Re: New to Insider, a few questions
    iahflyr Platinum 26 Reviews

parcaae,

Welcome to Insiders and please ask any questions you may have as their are a number of great folks here who are very experienced in travels all over the world as well as being quite versed in Marriott Rewards.

I'll attempt to answer your questions and others will also chime in where I fail to explain or give a descent answer.

1.  You can use your reward anyplace Visa is accepted of course and you will earn reward points, but when you use it at Marriott properties you get bonus points as well depending on the which rewards Visa care you have.