38 Replies Latest reply: Feb 4, 2014 3:10 PM by iahflyr RSS

Are you ready for some football "}???

profchiara Alumni Steward Silver 3 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Hi all,

It's 5-0 nothing now (what a bizarre starting score), but I am most assuredly rooting for the Seahawks (who have the 5).  Denver people, please understand I think you're city is lovely, though I've only been there once.  But I think Seattle is one of the greatest cities in the US.  And that has absolutely nothing to do with my pick.  As a Pats fan, I might be accused of rooting for Pete Carroll.  Not so -- he was deplorable as coach when he was in New England.

When I realized way back before I graduated high school and knew I wanted to be a sports writer, I had become an enormous fan of the NHL, and even was an usherette at the old Spectrum in Philly so I could get into Flyers' games free.  Those were the good ole days, and I came to understand sports as teamwork.  The Broad Street Bullies were not such bullies in their first years (with Bobbie Clarke and Bernie Parent that would be ridiculous).  At the same time, I listened from Philly on radio every night to WBZ in Boston to the Bruins' games in their great years (Orr, Esposito, Sanderson).  And I came to understand what teamwork meant in creating a winner.  The Flyers surprisingly won sometimes, but the Bruins more so, because they had the ultimate of teamwork and talent.

I remember at the same time deploring the Chicago Blackhawks for what they did not have, i.e. teamwork. They had Bobby Hull.  He made a big splash all the time -- mostly for himself -- but in those days they rarely went far.

To me, my Pats (I've been a fan since moving to New England in 1976 (the bad ole days, but I am no fair weather fan), but the teamwork part began with Belichick and Brady) are the epitome of it, since Brady has taken pay cuts repeatedly to try to keep players under the cap.