33 Replies Latest reply: Nov 24, 2013 6:01 PM by profchiara RSS

Airline Surcharges, Fees, and Taxes on Award Travel?

painedplatinum Platinum 2 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Our friend tker was kind enough to start a thread on the transition of USAir, post merger, from Star Alliance to OneWorld. Having only really experienced the Star Alliance in general and USAir in particular, I have limited experience with non-U.S. carriers for award travel. Mrs. Pained and I are planning to enjoy visits to Europe, Asia, Australia, and South America over the next few years. Our other friend, californian , shared the nightmare of a $1000 charge from British Airways on an award ticket to Scandinavia. Man, that's steep!!

My question....

What airlines have joined British Airways in charging outrageous surcharges, fees and/or taxes on award travel?  Please, share your knowledge and experiences.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Airline Surcharges, Fees, and Taxes on Award Travel?
    californian Platinum 37 Reviews

Pained,

I am going with the good in One World.  You mentioned Australia and in my opinion Qantas is one of the best airlines and I don't remember a heavy tax.  When i went to SA to get to Antarctica, I flew on AA and the taxes and fees were very little.  I will be flying back from SA on AA nest year and the tax was small.  I flew Japan Airlines, which I didn't like, going to Thailand and don't remember huge taxes.  I think your main concern will be Europe.

I will be following this to learn more.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

erc Platinum

United Airlines - award travel

I was charged 49.90 per each award RT Dulles to Copenhagen;

US Customs user fee                 $5.50