3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 24, 2013 4:24 PM by profchiara RSS

Where to? My most importants!

profchiara Alumni Steward Silver 3 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

As a result of a recent doctor's visit (and 15 years of history with multiple spinal, nerve, and arthritic issues) I find myself facing as I did in 1999-2000 the possibility of extreme limitations to my mobility both as a result of possible surgeries and recovery periods, as well as having to work. As a college professor, I have a fabulous job that lets me travel to those places where I do my research and plan my new courses.

So I'd ask you all, at whatever stage of life you are (I'm 61.5)

1)What city will you go back to as many times as you possibly can

2)What country will you visit different parts of as often as you can

3)What place MUST you go back to no matter how difficult it is, before you enter that ultimate realm of travel ?

Here are my answers, very easy to me as it turns out, but which never would have been obvious to me 40, 30, 20 or even 10 or 5 years ago when I was spending most of my research time in France and some fellowship time in Germany, Switzerland and London.  All that has changed.  I've lived in France about 1/20 of my life, and been pretty much everywhere, and having lived in Paris about 3 of those years, 2 consecutive, I feel no need or particular desire to go back. Don't mistake me -- I love Paris.  But it's kind of like visiting the old neighborhood -- perhaps nice, but not particularly inspiring.  I encourage many of you to disagree with me vehemently.

The bulk of my answers to my three questions happened in the last 5 years, though the answer to number one has transpired over a much longer period.  Here goes: