1 2 3 9 Previous Next 120 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2014 10:47 AM by trippin' RSS

Summertime BBQ Ideas & Favorites

iahflyr Platinum 26 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

Yes it is summertime even in the far north (trippin') so I thought it would be a good time to share your thoughts on BBQ and your favorites.

We are able to grill/smoke all year long and I take full advantage of it so when the summer street parties arrive our food is among the first to disappear.  While I'm still learning the tricks to smoking food, grilling is the staple with anything being grilled from stuffed jalapeno's and grilled hot wings to pork chops, pork loin, assorted different cold water fish and summer favorites of ribs and chicken.  Reading and listening to BBQ purists I'm sure they'd be telling me you can't do that with baby backs, but it's what we find has the most flavor and tenderness.

I've toyed with smoking baby backs with only a dry rub and many hours on the smoker as well as cooking them in the oven using beer then finishing them by slow cooking over indirect heat, low and slow while basting them with BBQ sauce every 30 minutes creating a very nice glaze on the ribs.  All you purists read no further!!

1. Start with a nice lean rack or more of baby backs, wash then pat the ribs dry and the remove the membrane on the bone side of the ribs. 

2. Create your favorite dry rub with flavors you enjoy most such as brown sugar, smoked paprika, garlic powder, mustard powder, black pepper, a little cayenne pepper (spicy as you like) and onion powder. 

3. Rub both sides of the ribs with extra virgin olive oil and then liberally coat both sides of the ribs with your dry rub.

4.Wrap them tightly in a good plastic wrap and put them in the refrigerator overnight.