0 Replies Latest reply: Apr 13, 2013 3:24 AM by ylightning RSS

42story - My First Season (Not) Playing Baseball

ylightning Silver
Currently Being Moderated

I started playing baseball relatively late compared to other kids in my town.  Maybe it's because I never got the feel for sports since I lived with my mom after the divorce (and she wasn't into sports).  Or maybe I was just too scared to lose my teeth if I ever took a grounder to the face.  Or maybe I was born with two left feet.  Either way you look at it, I just didn't know what I was missing.

"We gotta find some way to expand your horizons"

It was my stepdad who first introduced me to the idea of playing organized baseball.  He and my mom got together when I was 6, and at that point, he was "just another guy" to me; big, gruff and loud, but he tried his damnest to reach out to me.  After a few "failed" attempts to inspire me over the years through individual sports like karate and bowling, he figured a team sport might spark my interest.  We had season tickets to the local university's baseball games, so I had some exposure to the idea of playing before.  I didn't have many friends at the time, so maybe it was his way to expand my horizons.  Needless to say, I was thrilled at the idea.  My stepdad talked to some people he knew, and found out that one of his good friends coached a Little League team that practiced 10 minutes away from our apartment.  This provided a great opportunity for me to be coached by someone close to the family as well as for my stepdad to help coaching the team.  Only downside was that the team was for kids ages 5 - 8 years old, and I was already 9 going on 10 in a few months; which meant I would be ineligible to play in any sanctioned Little League games with this team.  Weighing those options, he decided it best for me to play under someone he felt comfortable with since I was just starting out, even though I would miss out on the games for the first season.