19 Replies Latest reply: Jun 10, 2012 7:12 PM by mgoes2 RSS

Which Smart Phone (and Smart Phone Apps) do you like for traveling and why?

pluto77 Alumni Steward Gold 25 Reviews
Currently Being Moderated

I have been using a BlackBerry for 3 years now.  For App and Internet use, I loath the thing.  The interface is horrible, and the browser is extremely slow.  Additionally, the track ball is constantly getting stuck (I have to keep alcohol wipes on hand to un-stick the track ball.)

It's time for a new phone!  Looking at the Droid and the Apple.  Which phone (O/S) do you favor, and why?  Which apps do you use to help you get around and find stuff, both home and abroad?

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

Location Brand Hotel
New York City, New York, USA
  • Re: Which Smart Phone (and Smart Phone Apps) do you like for traveling and why?
    psukeith5053 Platinum

Hey Pluto,

I have had the iPhone4 for almost 2 years, and LOVE IT.  I plan on upgrading to the 5 whenever it is released.  I have found that the airline apps have been very helpful, especially when it comes to checking in, finding a free available upgraded seat (Like United Economy plus 24 hours before takeoff), and then scanning my mobile boarding pass, so I am also paperless!

Another that I highly recommend, especially for those who like to stay on the ground, is road ninja.  It's an app that you use while on the interstate and tells you what restraunt's and gas stations are coming up on each exit.  I use it much more often than you'd think!

I also enjoy my bank and credit card apps, especially when traveling, you never know what sort of shady places/people you may visit and your card numbers could be stolen, so it's nice to be able to verify my account balances on the go!