11 Replies Latest reply: Nov 14, 2012 11:28 AM by GemPrincess RSS

Reward points for airline miles-bad idea?

lightshine Member
Currently Being Moderated

Hello,

I'm new to the world of timeshares, exchanging time for points, etc.  Recently, we decided to deposit our week in exchange for points, with the intention of then using the points for airline miles to get tickets to a destination.  We discovered that for 90,000 points, we can only get ONE airline ticket to the Carribean!! I can't believe this!!! I thought those points were worth more than that! I need suggestions...can you exchange the points for gift cards? THANKS!

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

• Re: Reward points for airline miles-bad idea?
    retired Platinum

Never exchange points for air fare miles. Do exchange points for the travel packages. For 250,000 points you can get 120,000 air miles, a five night hotel stay (cat 6 hotel) and a rental car discount coupon. For 300,000 points you can get the travel package for seven nights hotel stay, 120,000 air miles, plus car rental discount. This is the best way to pick up air miles when using points.

(For each location tag, you will be guided through a 3-step process to add (1) a city and a state or a city and a country, (2) a Marriott brand, and (3) a Marriott hotel.)

lesliepamel Platinum

Yeh! Gift cards, that's about all they are worth. Sorry to be the guy that advises you too late, but if I may explain Rewards for timeshare - the way I  see it.